Aust women’s rugby world cup squad

The Wallaroos squad that will head to Paris for the IRB Women’s Rugby World Cup in August has been announced with three regulars from the Australian women’s sevens team named.


Sharni Williams, Shannon Parry and Cobie Jane Morgan make a return to the Wallaroos squad after a successful performance on the world sevens circuit.

The Wallaroos are aiming to improve on their third place in the 2010 world cup. Head coach Paul Verrell said the players’ preparation has been good with two strong hit-outs against New Zealand and Canada during the Tri Nations tournament in New Zealand earlier this month.

“Although we didn’t get the results we wanted, from a coaching perspective we now know exactly what we need to target and have adjusted our training programs accordingly,” Verrell said.

“Having three representatives from our hugely successful sevens set-up highlights how the ARU’s Wallaroos and sevens program are working in tandem for this world cup campaign.”

Also named in the squad was Wallaroos veteran five-eighth Tui Ormsby, who will represent Australia in her fourth women’s world cup, the first Australian woman to do so. Verrell is hoping Ormsby’s experience will help guide her 12 teammates who will be playing in their first world cup.

“Tui showed in New Zealand why she is considered such a strong leader in the team,” Verrell said.

“She is a great mentor for the younger players and her experience going into a tough world cup campaign will be invaluable for the entire squad.”

Australia have been drawn in Pool C alongside Wales, South Africa and host nation France.

Australian squad for IRB Women’s World Cup: Tricia Brown, Louise Burrows, Chloe Butler,

Cheyenne Campbell, Rebecca Clough, Dalena Dennison, Mollie Gray, Natasha Haines, Alisha Hewett, Ashley Hewson, Ashley Masters, Nita Maynard, Danielle Meskell, Michelle Milward, Cobie Jane Morgan, Tui Ormsby, Shannon Parry, Liz Patu, Madeline Putz, Brooke Saunders, Oneata Schwalger, Hanna Sio, Rebecca Smyth, Caroline Vakalahi, Margaret Watson, Sharni Williams